Thursday, October 07, 2010

Mario Vargas Llosa Wins Nobel

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa has won this year's Nobel Prize for Literature. Llosa is one of the most acclaimed writers of the Spanish-speaking world, having written over 30 novels and plays. The Nobel Committee praised his "cartography of structures of power" and "trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat."
GSA Library stocks a number of Llosa titles in translation in its Fiction Collection, available on the mezzanine level of the Main Library.